Funding for Brighter Tomorrow A Maharatna Company
Ultra Mega Power Projects


Ministry of Power launched a unique initiative in 2005-06 to facilitate the development of Ultra Mega Power Projects (UMPPs) each having a capacity of about 4000 MW each, at both the coal pitheads and coastal locations aimed at delivering power at competitive cost to consumers by achieving economies of the scale. The Central Government has accordingly taken the initiative for facilitating the development of UMPPs under tariff based competitive bidding route using super critical technology on build, own and operate (BOO) basis. Central Electricity Authority (CEA) is the Technical partner and Power Finance Corporation (PFC) is the Nodal Agency.

In order to enhance investors' confidence, reduce risk perception and get good response to competitive bidding, PFC incorporates Special Purpose Vehicles (SPVs) for each UMPP to undertake the bidding process on behalf of the power procuring (beneficiary) States. The purpose of the SPVs is to carry out the bid process management and obtain various clearances/consents for the projects so that the same are transferred to the successful bidder along with the SPV, who is selected through the tariff based International Competitive Bidding (ICB) in accordance with the "Guidelines for determination of tariff by bidding process for procurement of power by distribution licensees", issued by Ministry of Power, Govt of India, as amended from time to time

UMPPs at a Glance

S.No Particulars No. of UMPPs
1. Total UMPPs Envisaged 15
2. SPVs Incorporated 19
3. Awarded 4

UMPPs Awarded

S.No UMPP Name List of Participants Tariff Sheet
1. Sasan Power Limited, Sasan UMPP, Madhya Pradesh List of Participants (62 KB) Tariff Sheet (84 KB)
2. Coastal Gujarat Power Limited, Mundra UMPP, Gujarat List of Participants (63 KB) Tariff Sheet (103 KB)
3. Coastal Andhra Power Ltd., Krishnapatnam UMPP, Andhra Pradesh List of Participants (67 KB) Tariff Sheet (99 KB)
4. Jharkhand Integrated Power Ltd., Tilaiya UMPP, Jharkhand List of Participants (64 KB) Tariff Sheet (84 KB)

Other UMPPs Identified:

1.       Orissa Integrated Power Ltd., District Sundargarh, Odisha UMPP,

2.       Coastal Tamil Nadu Power Ltd., Cheyyur UMPP, District Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu

3.       Bihar Mega Power Ltd, Bihar UMPP, Banka District, Bihar

4.       Deoghar Mega Power Ltd, Jharkhand 2nd UMPP, District Deoghar, Jharkhand

5.       Sakhigopal Integrated Power Co. Ltd., Orissa 1st Additional UMPP, District Bhadrak, Odisha

6.       Ghogarpalli Integrated Power Co. Ltd., Orissa 2nd Additional UMPP, District Kalahandi, Odisha

7.       Coastal Maharashtra Mega Power Ltd. Maharashtra UMPP, District Sindhudurg

8.       Coastal Karnataka Power Ltd., Karnataka UMPP, Karnataka

9.       2nd UMPP in Tamil Nadu

10.      2nd UMPP in Gujarat

11.        UMPP in Uttar Pradesh


Subsidiaries of PFC (PFCCL and UMPPs):

1.       PFC Consulting Ltd

2.       Orissa Integrated Power Ltd

3.       Odisha Infrapower Ltd

4.       Coastal Tamil Nadu Power Ltd

5.       Cheyyur Infra Ltd

6.       Bihar Mega Power Ltd

7.       Bihar Infrapower Ltd

8.       Deoghar Infra  Ltd

9.       Deoghar Mega Power Ltd

10.      Sakhigopal Integrated Power Company Ltd

11.      Ghogarpalli Integrated Power Company Ltd

12.      Coastal Maharashtra Mega Power Ltd

13.      Coastal Karnataka Power Ltd

14.      Tatiya Andhra Mega Power Ltd

15.      Chhattisgarh Surguja Power Ltd

16.      Jharkhand Infrapower Ltd